You probably thought I would not get this far

You thought I would end up living in the back of a car

You probably thought I would never escape

I’d be a rat in a cage

I’d be a slave to this place

You don’t know how hard I have fought to survive

Waking up alone when I was meant to die

You don’t know about this life I have lived

All the roads I have walked

All the tears I have bled

People know my name

But they don’t know the story

Their opinions carry little weight with me

I’m not the same soul I once was

A lot has changed

A lot had to change

So, you should not expect out of me what I embodied in the past

Because I have found impossible was God’s specialty

Leave a Reply

